Google + shuts down on April 2 2019

Google + shuts down on April 2 2019

Today Google shuts down Google + marking the end of the social network that has been bedeviled by low usage thus making no business sense to maintain it.

The social media network is being shutdown by Google.

On 2 April 2019, Google is shutting down the consumer (personal) version of Google+, a social network.

All users have been alerted to archive their data and delete their accounts or wait for the shutdown for Google to automatically delete the accounts.

If you want to, you can download and save your Google+ data. This may take time, so get started before 31 March 2019.

However, if you have a G Suite account at work or at school, you can continue to use Google+ within your organisation.

No other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive or YouTube) will be shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown. The Google Account that you use to sign in to these services will remain.

Remember you can delete your Google+ account before the consumer Google+ shutdown.

 

Download your Google+ data before it shuts down

You can export and download your Google+ data, including your Google+ circles, communities, streams and +1s.

Important: Downloading your Google+ content may take time, so get started before 31 March 2019.

Note: Downloading your Google+ data will not delete your Google+ profile. Learn how to delete your Google+ profile.

Download all your Google+ data before it shuts down

You can download an archive of all your Google+ data at once, including your Google+ circles, communities, streams and +1s. Your Google+ archive includes your photos and videos from Google+.

  1. Go to the Download your data page. You might have to sign in. Your available Google+ data will be pre-selected.
  2. Click Next.
  3. Choose a file type.
  4. Choose how you want your data delivered.
  5. Click Create archive.

Note: If you want to download Google+ Pages content, sign in as the Google+ Page.

Download specific Google+ data before it shuts down

Instead of downloading all of your data, you can download specific Google+ data, such as your photos, posts, communities or events.

Important: If you want to download your photos and videos from Google+, make sure that you select Photos under ‘Google+ stream’.

  1. Go to the Download your data page. You might have to sign in.
  2. Next to the type of content that you want to download, such as Google+ Stream, click the down arrow Down arrow.
  3. Click Select specific data.
  4. Select the specific data that you’d like to download.
  5. Click OK.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Choose a file type.
  8. Choose how you want your data delivered.
  9. Click Create archive.

Note: If you want to download Google+ Pages content, sign in as the Google+ Page.

Save your photos and videos

Step 1: Download your photos and videos

  1. Go to the Download your data page. You might have to sign in.
  2. To download your photos and videos from Google+, make sure that ‘Google+ Stream’ is selected, click ‘All Google+ Stream data included’ and make sure that the Photos option is selected.
  3. Click Next Step.
  4. Choose a file type. Choose how you want your data delivered.
  5. Click Create archive.

Note: Your archive may take minutes or days before it’s available.

Step 2: Save your photos and videos

For best results, follow these steps on a computer:

  1. When your content is ready to download, you’ll receive an email.
  2. Open the email and click Download archive.
  3. Sign in to your Google Account.
  4. Next to your archive, click Download.
  5. On your computer, go to the downloads folder and open the file. Your photos will be in the ‘Photos’ folder inside the ‘Google+ Stream’ folder that appears.

Optional: How to upload your content to Google Photos

After you have downloaded your photos to your device, you can store them on your device or upload them to Google Photos or another photo service.

There are two ways to back up your phone, camera or storage card from your computer to Google Photos:

  1. Install Backup and Sync.
  2. Upload photos from your browser.

Learn how to back up photos to Google Photos.

Download Google+ data for deleted Google+ accounts

If you previously deleted your Google+ account or your Google+ Page, we informed you that your photos and videos from Google+ would continue to appear in your album archive and your Google+ Events content wouldn’t be deleted. We will now begin deleting this content on 2 April 2019. If you want to keep this content, download it using the instructions above before April 2019. Note: Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

Hits: 1209
Share