Media Council of Kenya Complaints Commission Sworn- in

Media Council of Kenya Complaints Commission Sworn- in

By Kevin Mabonga

Kwamboka Oyaro, a Complaints Commissioner being sworn in

Kwamboka Oyaro, a Complaints Commissioner being sworn in

The Media Council of Kenya’s new Complaints Commission is now officially in office.

The Chairman and members of the Commission established under the Media Council Act 2013 were sworn in on 31st October 2016 at the High Court, in Milimani, before Justice James Wakiaga.

This came after they were gazzeted by the Cabinet Secretary for ICT Mr Joe Mucheru on 3rd October 2016.

The members will be in office for three years.

The Commission is now tasked with dealing with the over 100 cases awaiting determination.

The seven members, Timothy Kariuki Mwangi (chair), Henry Omusundi Maina, Gladys Kwamboka Oyaro, Abdi Mohamud Hassan, Esther Ajowi AdumaWangethi Mwangi, and Philip Mbaji will officially start working after being sworn-in by a High Court judge.

While Maina, Wangethi, Mbaji and Kwamboka are journalists with newsroom experience, the others are lawyers, some of whom have served in the Advocates Complaints Commission and the judiciary.

Media Council of Kenya Chairman Charles Kerich and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Haron Mwangi have urged any person or institution with any media related grievance to lodge the complaint with the Complaints Commission for adjudication.

“We are optimistic that the commission will handle the many cases that have piled up for the last two years,” said Kerich.

The Media Council of Kenya Board was inaugurated on 22nd September, 2016 at the Intercontinental Hotel Nairobi after the term of previous board members expired in November 2015. The new board members, appointed by the Cabinet Secretary Information Communications and Technology (ICT) Mr. Joe Mucheru as per the provision of the Media Council Act 2013, will also serve for three years.

Hits: 1404